Main Menu

Upgrading my outdated computer...

Started by humancatpost, January 26, 2012, 09:32:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

humancatpost

I don't like my computer.  It's built with bottom-of-the-line, outdated parts and any new games are probably going to be a no-go for me unless I upgrade the stuff quite a bit.  Now I'm not good with computers, or knowing how to put them together/take them apart, but a few weeks ago I went out and got a new graphics card.  Well, turns out there were more complications, and my power supply wasn't powerful enough to handle it, so I guess there's another thing I need to replace.  So any of you who are in the know about these kinds of things, I would assume that would be Dragon and Cold, please give me some advice for possible part upgrades so I can get a good feel for how much I need to save up for a decent upgrade.  Here are my specs (copied straight from Speccy, cause I don't trust myself):

Operating System
    MS Windows Vista Home Premium 64-bit SP1
CPU
    Intel Core 2 Quad Q8200  @ 2.33GHz  
    Yorkfield 45nm Technology
RAM
    8.00 GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 531MHz
Motherboard
    PEGATRON CORPORATION Eureka3 (CPU 1)  
Graphics
    SyncMaster (1920x1200@60Hz)
    ATI Radeon HD 4350 (MSI)  
Hard Drives
    733GB Seagate ST3750528AS ATA Device (SATA)  
Optical Drives
    HL-DT-ST DVD-RAM GH40L ATA Device
Audio
    Realtek High Definition Audio

Thanks   :02.47-tranquillity:
There\'s a fine line between not listening and not caring. I like to think that I walk that line every day of my life.

static2601

How big is your PSU and what is your graphics card. With those specs, I would think you have a decent power supply.

Cold Assassin

The specs you gave me are not what I was hoping for. I need model numbers and such. You need a ATX power supply, maybe 850 Watt. Other then that all you other specs are good.

humancatpost